5-10 Years

The other day, my boss asked me what my long-term (5-10 years) career goals are, and I floundered around for an answer. Sure, I have a few things running around in my head, but nothing remotely concrete. 
It has given me a bit of a kick in the butt to become more proactive about things. After all, we all know how fast time flies, and 5-10 years will be here and gone before I know it. Where will I be then? Will I just follow whatever falls in front of me, or be somewhere because I followed my own path?
So, readers, do you have a 5-10 year career plan? What does it consist of? Are you like me and have ideas in your head but not much else, or do you have documents, spreadsheets, notebooks, etc.? If you’re more like the latter, what kinds of things do you write down or keep track of? Any web utilities/pages, apps, or books you’d recommend to help?
Comments on: "5-10 Years" (3)

  1. I have a 5 year plan, but it looks nothing like my 5 year plan looked like 3 years ago! I think it is good to think about long term career goals so that you can take the steps to grow your career in the direction you want to go. But I also think you have to be open to changes in your goals. And sometimes it is OK to not know what your 5 or 10 year plan is, but have some ideas for areas you want to work on growing, and just do that.

    I've never used any fancy technology for planning- just a list of things I want to do.

    Like

  2. I used to have 5 year plan for my career. It all went to hell once I graduated from teacher's college. It's still hard to tell where I'll be from one semester to the next so I've given up trying to pin down where I'll be in 5 years.

    Jason and I do have a plan for non-work-related life, like when to replace his car, when to start to looking for a new house, etc. We have a family meeting every so often to go over finances and figure out what changes we might need to make to get to where we want to be and how long that might take. I use Excel to track expenses and keep some form of budget. Other than that, nothing forma.

    Like

  3. Cloud – Yup, nothing like my past career to know that my future career will probably not look the same as I want it to now 🙂 I have been putting more effort into professional development recently, and I'm starting to explore options a bit more.

    spacepotatoes – I could see how that would be hard! We do that with our non-work stuff too. It's nice to have an idea of where you are, peg down some goals, and figure out ways to get there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

