Poor Performance

The other day I really disappointed myself. I had scheduled a meeting with a particular person so I could pick their brain about something I am interested in at a personal level. They, understandably, assumed I wanted to talk to them for professional reasons. Unfortunately, when they asked me what I was hoping to get from them, I baulked, and started talking about potential collaborations and common interests between our programs. 
I’m not sure why I did that. I guess it’s easier to make gains for a larger group than for just myself. I seem to have a much harder time asking for help/information/etc. for me rather than on a professional level. 
I did get some good information out of the meeting – but I didn’t at all achieve what I wanted.
Comments on: "Poor Performance" (4)

  1. Send an email. Thank them for the meeting, and explain what happened. Admit that their question threw you off guard, or that you didn't think of the personal questions, and ask them if they have time for another meeting to discuss x,y, and z. Or that the conversation with them has generated more questions that apply on a personal level for you, and then answer the original question they asked you.

    It happens, don't beat yourself up over it! Give yourself some time to catch your breath, write and rewrite an email, then eventually send it. Just because you didn't achieve what you wanted out of one meeting doesn't mean you can't get more information – besides, collaboration usually involves more than one meeting!

    Like

  2. I can understand why you'd be disappointed, but consider this just the first step to achieving your original goal! Having made initial contact in a way that sounds as if it was beneficial for both parties, get in touch in a few days as Laryssa suggests, saying that you enjoyed meeting them, here's some follow-up info on [thing you talked about], and oh, hey, now you've started thinking about how this all ties in with Personal Goal X that maybe you could discuss with them at a future date?

    Good luck!

    Like

  3. Thanks to both of you for your comments! I have made follow-up meetings with a couple of contacts I was given, which will give me an opportunity to follow-up with the original person. Thankfully, it's not just a one-time thing…there might be some collaborations and such which will ensure I meet that person again 🙂

    Like

  4. I'm a little late to this one but just wanted to say that I've done this before many times. Hopefully as you see more of that person, it'll become easier to broach more personal subjects. I like the idea of an email, too. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

