On The Needles

I haven’t posted much about my knitting recently (and by recently, I mean in the last two years). That’s because I’ve been working on the same project (Penrose afghan) since early 2011. It has 8 sections, and I’m done 5…almost 6. Clearly it’s slow going, and I don’t dedicate a ton of my time to knitting these days.
But, with the arrival of Jelly Bean in about six months, I need to get cracking. So, as with Evan, I chose a simple baby blanket pattern.

Fig. 1: Four rows done already!

Let’s pull out some knit-math: This blanket has about 250 rows. With approximately 180 days until my due date, that means I should knit 1.39 rows a day. Given that Evan came 5 weeks early though, I’d like to have it finished by September. So, that means 154 days…1.62 rows a day. It takes me about 15 minutes to do a row, so that should be entirely doable, even if I skip on knitting days or even weeks at a time. Right?

I’m hoping (as with using fun/easy books as pallet cleansers) this will renew my joy of knitting!

Comments on: "On The Needles" (3)

  1. I love your goal to be finished early because Evan came early. My oldest son was early and I was convinced my second would be early… because of that the waiting the last few weeks was terrible. (he was born 2 hours before his due date.) Cute blanket.

    Like

  2. Oh, there's nothing as inspiring as knitting for a baby — I've no doubt you'll be finished well in advance of your due date. Pretty color!

    Like

  3. Kate – I could see that happening! Though, I'm hoping this one goes farther than 35 weeks so that maybe we don't have to deal with the NICU, etc.

    Wool Free – I hope you're right! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

