Limits

Warning: navel-gazing bitch-fest coming up.
 
Don’t get me wrong, I’m very happy to be pregnant…but I’m not a happy pregnant lady. It’s hard, people! The thing that gets me the most is the limits it puts on me.
I have to worry about eating certain things (no soft cheeses! careful with deli meats! I’m sure many others that I just ignore!), and there’s the whole no alcohol thing. Not that I’m a huge drinker, but I like to relax with a glass of wine if I want, or have a beer on a warm summer day with a burger.
My cardio ability also goes to crap. This upsets me more this time because before I got pregnant, I was doing really well with working out. I had all sorts of goals in mind for this summer like running a 5K, or doing a long bike ride for charity. In the first trimester, I felt so horrible and tired that there was no way I was going to exercise. At this point, I get winded walking up a flight of stairs, so I’ll need to start up again slowly. I am registered for a yoga class starting in a couple of weeks, so hopefully that, coupled with the warmer weather (so more walking/biking opportunities), will get things rolling.
The toughest part for me is the no Advil rule. Given that my shoulders/neck/back seem even worse when pregnant, means I’m dealing with fairly constant pain. Sure, it goes away for a couple hours here and there, or I might even have a full good day, but then it’s back and Tylenol doesn’t do crap. I’m doing a lot more stretching and I think I’ve killed my hot bean bag (I swear it’s losing it’s heat capacity — is that possible?), but there’s only so much that can do. 
Needless to say that I’m excited for the baby to be born…not only because it’ll be amazing to have a new baby in my arms, but so I can start getting my body back again. 
Comments on: "Limits" (14)

  1. I totally sympathize with the no advil rule. Had to give up my use of Aleve due to some injections in my back. Couldn't take anti-inflammatories, only Tylenol (which is useless).

    But, I'm not just here to complain – I used to have a wheat bag until I discovered HEATING PADS! So amazing! I now have one at home and one at work. Heat is adjustable, auto turn off, use it to warm up your bed in the winter, and great for backache even when you can take Advil.

    Don't cheap out – get this one http://leisureguy.wordpress.com/2007/03/04/good-heating-pad/

    Good luck!

    Like

  2. Pregnancy can be very hard on some people, AND THEN they say no alcohol! Luckily, I just stumbled across this article:

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-22167522

    So, if you're past the first trimester and would like to relax with a glass of wine once or twice a week, it's scientifically proven to be ok. But perhaps limit it to nights in, people might look at you funny at a bar. Congrats on you soon-to-be new little one!

    Like

  3. You should be feeling better soon! And then it'll be worse again, but then you'll have the baby. 🙂

    Swimming is my absolute favorite pregnant-lady exercise. Just being in the water once you start getting big feels nice.

    Like

  4. It is possible for a hot bean bag to lose its heat capacity if it gets too dry. You can leave it in the bathroom while you take a shower or three, and it should heat up better afterwards.

    Also, NARCOTICS. No risk of premature ventricular whatever closure!

    Like

  5. I hear you. The cardio stress was for me by far the worst part of being pregnant. All that pumping! Even when I wasn't doing anything, just sitting around, my heart was beating like crazy. I couldn't sleep, I couldn't walk stairs, and the medications I was supposed to take against the preterm labor only made this worse 😦 On the other hand, being pregnant taught me how amazingly robust the human body is and what it can do. You're growing a human being! And don't worry about the 5K, this time next year you'll be there again.

    Like

  6. Anonymous said:

    yeah, pregnancy sucks!

    fortunately, you'll get your body back in a relatively short time.

    Like

  7. I'm sorry you're not feeling well 😦 Hope you get some energy back at some point during 2nd trimester. It may not last but at least there's a definite end date!

    Like

  8. Heather – thank you for your parallel complaining, AND for the suggestion! I'll definitely look into it!

    Like

  9. Nicole – can I say 😀 😀 😀 (I actually do indulge in a few sips here and there, but would never do it in public!)

    Like

  10. nicoleandmaggie – the 1T sickness/tiredness is pretty much gone. It's just now replaced with aching muscles. I do love swimming too and plan to sign up for a session in the summer.

    Like

  11. JFS – I will try that (the humidity, not the narcotics….yet).

    Like

  12. Sabine – yes, it's amazing how noticeable the difference is. I mean, I seriously have to catch my breath after walking from my car to my office. People give me these looks, and I want to say “it's because I'm pregnant!!!” And, yes, it is truly amazing what our bodies can do. It has definitely given me a whole other level of appreciation for it and I have noticed that I have a much better self-image since I was PG with Evan.

    Like

  13. Anon – yup! At least there's an end in site!

    Like

  14. spacepotatoes – It seems to be getting better now, but the muscle pain is still going strong. It doesn't help lifting a 32-pound squirmy weight all the time 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

