Yard Sale Tips

We’re planning on having our first ever yard sale sometime this summer. We do sometimes sell things on Kijiji here and there, but we’ve amassed a pretty big pile of stuff we want to get rid of, so I thought trying to do it all at once might be a good idea.
The last time I was involved in a garage/yard sale was at my parents house years ago, so I’m sure things have changed since then. So, I need some tips from people who have done this recently!
1. Where is the best place to advertise? Do newspapers still have yard sale sections, or is online the way to go (or both)?
2. Is one weekend day good (if so, which is better?), or should we do both days?
3. I’ve heard “opening” earlier is better – what’s a good time to open and close the sale?
4. Prices – always the fun part, I imagine. Do you price to sell (I’m leaning this way) or price to make money? 
5. Do you sell everything individually (and then maybe give deals if they’re buying more than one), or put packages together (this would be for things like VHS/DVDs, clothes, photo frames, etc.)?
6. Any other great tips?
I’m kind of excited about this – I feel like it’s a rite of passage or something.
Comments on: "Yard Sale Tips" (6)

  1. It's been a while since I've done a yard sale, but I've been to a lot lately. lol.

    1.) I'd do newspaper, online, any community area that may have that sort of information and out a few signs around the neighborhood the day of.

    2.) Most of the yard sales I see around here are just one day and only on Saturday. Many people attend church on Sunday mornings so if they were going to a yard sale it would be after 12:00 on a Sunday.

    3.) This area most of the yard sales are from 8 – 2 or 8 – 4. I've seen a few open as early as 6 or 7, but I never wake up to go to those. lol.

    4.) I'd go somewhere in between on prices. give yourself a little room to negotiate or to give a discount for items that you group.

    5.) Most yard sales I go to have things like VHS, DVD's, CD's, and books for along the lines of 4/$1 so grouping wouldn't be a bad idea, and it may get rid of a few more. People will see $.25 each and only buy one or two, but if they see 4/$1 they will specifically look for 2 other items they they may not really want a lot, but will be satisfied with because they want the “deal”. I think I remember watching a documentary about that somewhere talking about how retailers do that specifically because people will pick up the larger amount because they think they are getting a deal even if it says something like “$.33 each or 3/$1.”

    6.) I've noticed that in my area there are a lot of “neighborhood” yard sales where a bunch of neighbors get together, it's more advertising because they are telling their friends and family so it's getting out there to more people. If you can talk to a few of your neighbors that may be the way to go. Also make sure that you don't need a permit. Some area require permits.

    Good luck and have fun! 🙂

    Like

  2. I second the advice to invite others on your block to have their sale on the same day –it draws a bigger crowd.

    If your goal is to get rid of stuff I'd price stuff to sell and then plan to donate the leftovers to a local charity.

    Be prepared that if you say you are starting at 8a.m. some people will show up at 7a.m. and I wouldn't advertise past 2p.m. because most people will be done their garage sale-ing by noon. You'll get a few stragglers at the end looking to get something for nothing.

    If it rains, pretty much no one will come so you are best to advertise a rain date and I think that Saturday garage sales still draw the best crowd.

    Like

  3. We just did a garage sale and made almost $500! (For two people's stuff. Still.)

    I don't know for Canada but here:

    1) Craigslist, the newspaper-advertised garage sales are usually not as good here (strange but true)

    2) Depends where you are, here they're always Friday and/or Saturday. We got a lot more people Saturday, but it was also sunnier, so who knows.

    3) Also depends on your area, here they're 8-4 in general, sometimes 8-6.

    4) What she said. Also we took pictures of all the big stuff (car-shaped baby bouncer, table saw, swings, baby gates, bike rack, 8 foot ladder) and posted them all, and people came specifically for those things and mostly paid what we were asking or a little less. Around here kids' clothes are usually $1/piece.

    5) What she said.

    6) Definitely sort stuff out by type. And tables work better than stuff-on-tarps. And put out signs on all the major roads, with arrows, and make sure to paint them, marker doesn't work. (Tomato stakes and foam core board and a lot of tape work great.)

    This is pretty good advice too: http://www.buckupbuttercup.net/buck-up-buttercup/2012/9/30/tips-for-having-a-successful-and-fun-yard-sale.html

    Like

  4. 1. Where is the best place to advertise? Do newspapers still have yard sale sections, or is online the way to go (or both)?
    I find the newspapers charge too much; so unless you think it will be worth the price I would just stick to on-line.

    2. Is one weekend day good (if so, which is better?), or should we do both days? Nana swears by 3 days…. me I am worn out after 1 day. Do what you think is best for you.

    3. I've heard “opening” earlier is better – what's a good time to open and close the sale? I like 9 to 4… I find that the earlier you start the more “vultures” you get.

    4. Prices – always the fun part, I imagine. Do you price to sell (I'm leaning this way) or price to make money? In the middle. Leave some room for bargaining.

    5. Do you sell everything individually (and then maybe give deals if they're buying more than one), or put packages together (this would be for things like VHS/DVDs, clothes, photo frames, etc.)? Price individually and let people know you are willing to make lot deals as they arrive.

    6. Any other great tips?

    Like

  5. Thanks for all the suggestions and ideas, everyone!

    Like

  6. I know this is late, but I would like to ask how did the yard sale go? I can't blame you for being excited; yard sale is what everyone loves. Looking for things we love and getting it in a very low can definitely a score! For me, the best strategy is to have a great team to work with you, like your family and friends. Because they can spread the word to all the people they knew. It's one way of advertising your yard sale. Also, they can help you with the whole process. – Chin Portillo @ SalesPartnerScapeTown.co.za

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

