Can’t Blog

I sometimes miss the days where I blogged as Mrs Comet Hunter. Even though it was a thin veil of anonymity, it was enough that I felt comfortable writing about general work or home situations.
Now, I just can’t. All sorts of people I know in real life know about this blog. I can’t rant, I can’t ask advice, I can’t do a lot of things. It sucks.  
So many things are going on right now that are unbloggable because I use my real name, and I wish that wasn’t the case. I miss having that type of support from my readers and fellow bloggers.
Comments on: "Can’t Blog" (9)

  1. Anonymous said:

    You could always email another blog that does a regular or occasional “ask the readers” feature under a pseudonym. You could even pick a blog related to the problem at hand. (And feel free to delete this comment if you decide that's a good idea and want to be 100% sure nobody connects the dots.)

    Like

  2. yI was just about to say what anon said. I remember reading at Cloud or was it beanmom or someone else in the canadian scientist group where we had a longish comment section on “maybe setting up a closed Linkdin or email group” since we wanted Q&A but not in the public… even though the resulting conversation could be public (if that makes sense?).

    Or something like that. I'm thinking about that at the moment as I have some “I need advice&comments but don't want too much linkage to my IRL”

    Like

  3. I hear ya!!!

    Like

  4. Anon – Thanks for the suggestion. I've actually done that in the past.

    chall – I would love to set up a private google group or something where bloggers can ask/answer questions we wouldn't feel comfortable with discussing on our blogs. Even if blogging under a different name, it makes it tough to give enough details to get solid advice – so having something like that would be amazing.

    Ella – 😀

    Like

  5. Ummm, that appeals to me too!

    Like

  6. Isn't that the truth.

    Like

  7. Some of the parenting blogs I read early on did a thing where people agreed to host anonymous posts from other people, so they could talk about things they found unbloggable on their own blogs.

    Feel free to email me if you think I'd have advice on whatever you've got going on. I can't sort out my own life, but I'd be happy to take a crack at sorting out yours! 🙂

    Like

  8. JaneB – maybe we should set something up!

    Kate – it sure is!

    Cloud – thanks for the offer! I'll keep it in mind.

    Like

  9. Anonymous said:

    If you were to blog anonymously, and then reveal true things about yourself, perhaps deep and intimate things, don't you worry that your friends would recognize you anyway?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

