Back-to-School Nightmares

It’s been 4 years since I finished my PhD, and 8 years since I took classes, but every August (and around exam times) I always have school-related nightmares. 
Last night, I was dreaming about taking a calculus exam. But, I had to take it while on a train, getting a tour of some sort of earthquake/flood disaster area, all while attending a family reunion. I kept getting distracted and couldn’t finish the exam – meaning I failed the course.
Other reoccurring themes are forgetting I signed up for a class but then having to take the final exam and failing miserably, and forgetting about the final exam so I fail the class.
Do you have back-to-school dreams?
Comments on: "Back-to-School Nightmares" (3)

  1. Uh, yeah. I frequently dream that I'm sitting in a school room full of pupils on desks etc, and somebody hands me an exam sheet. I look at it and don't understanding a thing, normally it's history or french (I hated both). Then I think: wait, that can't be because I already passed all these exams, and I wake up.

    Like

  2. Sabine – at least you get to realize you've already passed the exams in your dream!

    Like

  3. Ha! I just posted about this on facebook. I know when a new academic year is starting because I start having math nightmares. I'm a history professor, and always struggled with math. My nightmares are either about how my Ph.D. will be rescinded unless I pass a math test, or about how the history classes I'm supposed to teach are replaced by math classes. I've never started a new school year without those nightmares!

    Happy back to school!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

