Almost Missing Out

Today I was chatting with a colleague about my upcoming maternity leave, and she kept saying how excited I must be to meet the new baby, and how amazing it will be to watch the relationship between Evan and him grow.
And, sadly, I couldn’t say that I have been thinking about it all that much. 
I don’t know if it’s just part of the second-child syndrome, but this time around I’ve been so distracted by Evan, things at work, life in general, and focusing on the negative aspects of having a second, that I just haven’t become excited about the impending arrival.
And now, here I am, at 33 weeks along, and I feel like I’ve let myself miss out on the positive emotions that comes along with expecting. It’s even more disappointing because this (assuming all goes well in the next 7ish weeks) will be my last pregnancy. I won’t get to experience this again.
I’ve been telling myself that I’ll have time to decompress after I stop working (Sept. 13th is my last day), and then I’ll become more enthusiastic about things. But, now, that seems a bit ridiculous. It might seem “too little too late”, but I’m going to try my best to stop worrying about work and other things so much, and focus more on the little life growing in my belly, who we’ll be meeting in just a few short weeks. Yes, he’ll be turning our lives upside down, but it will be in a good way.
Comments on: "Almost Missing Out" (4)

  1. I think it is part of the second child thing. I know with #3 I've hardly had time to really think about being PG, expect when I have to (like morning sickness and doctor appointments). Life happens… don't blame yourself.

    Like

  2. I was exactly the same way when I was pregnant with Averie. Although I documented her pregnancy I just wasn't all excited to meet her and having two kids. Totally second child syndrome. 🙂

    Like

  3. ” I'm going to try my best to stop worrying about work and other things so much” great advice in general, regardless of the second child coming. We can plan all we want but in the end, life happens and it's important to enjoy it and remember that things happen that we can't plan for and (but?) it can be such great times!

    I hope you get to enjoy the last couple of weeks of pregnancy and find the happy in there. Truly a blessing (which I feel odd writing but have come to terms that I feel) to be having a second child to share all the lovely times with (together with the father and first one and family and friends). And the thought of Evan (any first child really) to meet and greet their sibling and enjoy their life with someone who is loved and cherished. (I realise I sound sappy but it is such a wonderful thing.) 🙂

    Like

  4. Don't worry about it, not at all. The sole purpose of pregnancy is to produce a healthy baby and mom. Whether you enjoyed it, how you deliver, it's all unimportant in the grand scheme of things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

