Brain Bleed

Well things have kind of hit the fan since Carter was born.
About a week after he was born, my midwife was over to do a check up, and I had a sudden headache right in the middle of my forehead and my blood pressure shot way up. I went to the ER, and it turns out I had a bleed in my brain, so they had to do brain surgery, I’ve been in the hospital ever since.
My condition is called postpartum Vasculopathy – basically a constriction or deformation of the blood vessels in my brain. It is related to pregnancy,and is expected to correct itself within 3 months of the birth.
I lost some physical and mental functions – mostly fine motor skills (on the right side) and some memory issues. Right now I’m at a stroke rehab centre in town, and am working with all kinds of people (physical therapist, occupational therapists, social workers, speed therapist, etc, etc.).
It’s all been a blur, and very weird sometimes,
Luckily, it seems I’m recovering well (though sometimes it doesn’t fee like it to me. I get frustrated when I can’t do things as easily as  I used to – like reading, talking (!) and typing for example.)
Thankfully I get to see the kids and DH, and I even get to do home visits now. Just last weekend we finally got to celebrate Evan’s 3rdbirthday.

We are very lucky that both sets of grandparents were able to come out to help, and DH’s parents and my mom are all still here. Its been amazing having so much support and help , especially knowing the kids are well taken care of.
Comments on: "Brain Bleed" (35)

  1. Wishing you all the best, Alyssa. It sounds like things could have been much, much worse – thank goodness the midwife was there when it happened! – and that your recovery is going well. Love and hugs xxx

    Like

  2. p.s. if you're up to reading, I recommend “My stroke of insight” by Jill Bolte Taylor – a neurobiologist who had a stroke a few years ago, and who's written an account of her recovery that's both personal and scientific. I bought it when my MIL had a brain bleed a few years ago and passed it around the whole family, and we all found it very helpful in understanding what my MIL was going through and what she needed to help her recover. I found the second part of the book – brain exercises – less helpful, but the first part makes it worth it.

    Like

  3. Oh no! I'm glad they caught it and that you're on the mend with a good prognosis.

    Like

  4. So glad you're ok! Hang in there!

    Like

  5. Cath – thanks for the book recommendation! Sounds like something that would be perfect right now!

    Also, I thought of you today during one of my sessions because they had me doing deductive reasoning/logic puzzles! Like this oneL http://occamstypewriter.org/vwxynot/2012/05/18/quiz-time-einsteins-logic-problem/

    Like

  6. thank you, nicoleandmaggie and Libera Arts ad! I'll try to update when I can.

    Like

  7. AIEEEEEEEEEEEE. Also OH MY GOD. I'm glad that you're recovering but that all sounds amazingly terrible. I've heard good things about Dragon, from friends, if you're in the market for voice-recognition software.

    Like

  8. Jenny – I think I have that on my phone..Something that might be useful!

    Like

  9. What a crazy/difficult/terrible thing to go through. I'm thrilled that you are doing well but of course wish you didn't have to go through any of this. I hope your recovery keeps going well and you get to spend lots of time with your family.

    Like

  10. Ash – thank you! The nice thing is it's family that's really helping get me through all of this – knowing I get to see the boys and DH keeps me going.

    Like

  11. Glad you are recovering well. Life throws these crazy things at us sometimes! Stroke of insight is a great book – I read it after my cycling accident and concussion. I have a small aneurysm in my brain now that's monitored for growth, and so I'm always happy to hear stories of recoveries from brain bleeds! Take care of yourself Alyssa. I know recovery can be frustrating and emotionally and physically difficult! My thoughts are with you.

    Like

  12. Oh Alyssa, so sorry to hear this, but glad that family is rallying round and the prognosis is good! THinking of you all…

    Like

  13. colleen e-w said:

    Alyssa, you were an inspiration to me from your past achievements-and now to see your determination and strength humbles me. I know you have a rational and scientific approach-3 month recovery…what is that in light years? Anything you need,let me know, my husband recommends the salmon!

    Like

  14. Oh my goodness — what a shock for you. So sorry to hear you've been going through all this but what a blessing that you are alive and well and on the mend. Praying you will soon be back home with your babies where you belong and that you'll be fully functional soon.

    Like

  15. I'm so, so, so, so glad you are doing better and are expected to fully recover! HOW SCARY! My heart hurts for you, wishing you fast and speedy full recovery! xoxo

    Like

  16. Alyssa, I am SO glad to hear this update from you, and yet I am also so sorry that you had to endure this set back. You are an incredibly strong woman – you are still recovering from having a baby for pete's sake and now you're also recovering from brain surgery!? What a story you will have. I am so so so glad you are recovering and I hope you are back home with your beautiful family SOON. Thinking of you.

    Like

  17. Alyssa, I'm so sorry you've had to go through this! I really hope you recover all your functions, or at least get to a point where you can do all you did even if slower.
    I'm sending you a big hug, and keep us posted!!!!
    PS: You are awesome!!

    Like

  18. I am so glad that you are recovering well. That sounds terrifying. I'm thinking of you all and sending you well wishes for a speedy and full recovery!

    Like

  19. I am so sorry to hear about this, and s glad that you are recovering well.

    I second Cath's book recommendation. It is a fascinating book, and I remember thinking as I read it that it would be very useful reading for the family of anyone who has a stroke.

    Sending wishes for a full and speedy recovery, with lots of time with your family.

    Like

  20. Oh my goodness Alyssa, I am so so sorry to hear you are going through this. Sending lots of good thoughts and wishes your way for a full recovery and lots lots lots more snuggles with your boys soon.

    Like

  21. Oh that is awful luck – I am so sorry to hear you and your family have to deal with illness at such a special time! I'm glad to hear though, that you've got good support around you. I don't think I can say it better than ana – so I'll shamelessly copy and say I'm sending lots of good thoughts your way and hope you get all the snuggles with your boys that you all need!

    Like

  22. Oh I'm so sorry to hear Alyssa. That sounds very scary, but thank goodness you had an attentive midwife and came to surgery fast. Best wishes for recovery. Sending lots of thoughts and best wishes. Hope you get home to the boys (all three) soon!

    Like

  23. Oh no!! I hate to hear this. But glad you got medical attention right away. Sending warm wishes for a speedy recovery.

    Like

  24. I'm sorry this happened! Wishing you all the best!

    Like

  25. Brain damage has to be one of the worst things that can happen, especially to those of us who work with their minds a lot. Losing ability in basic tasks like reading is terrifying. Stroke (of all kinds) has been the bête noir of my family, so I am well aware of how tough even a mild one is.

    Get well soon!

    Like

  26. Oh my gosh! I am not sure how I missed this. I am thinking of you and your family. I hope you can get back to normal soon! I actually saw this pin on Pinterest and thought of you: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/155796468333203057/ That is why I came over to the blog! It is like someone was telling me to check in! I'm so glad I did! ((hugs))

    Like

  27. Sue – thanks for sharing your experience. It's kind of amazing how many people go through something like this!

    Like

  28. JaneB – thank you! It's been SO nice having family here to help. it makes such a difference!

    Like

  29. colleen – thank you for the kind words and thoughts both here and via email!

    Like

  30. Thank you everyone for your kind words and thoughts! I will try to update when I can!

    Like

  31. the blog is great. I love keep reading it

    Like

  32. So sorry to hear about this, glad to see that you have the wonderful support of your beautiful family and a positive prognosis. Sending good wishes your way!

    Like

  33. Oh my goodness! Take care of yourself and get better. I'm so glad you get so see the boys and have family there to support you.

    Like

  34. Oh my God, I hadn't realized!!!
    Take care of yourself and best wishes for a full recovery!

    Like

  35. Wow, I'm so sorry I wasn't keeping up on your blog! Goodness gracious, I am so impressed with your positive attitude and resolve. You are one strong woman, and good for you for going to the hospital promptly. I will keep thinking about you and your family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

