Typing

One of the most challenging tasks for me right now is typing. I think it’s because it involves fine motor skills on both side and verbal communication – combining both cognitive and physical abilities. It’s frustrating that I can’t do it nearly as fast as I once could  – those darn “o’s” and “p’s” are tough sometimes (that little pinky on the right side needs more practice) – but I  have already seen an improvement. Even a week ago, it was a lot harder for me to type. What’s good (in my mind) is that it’s the physical that needs to catch up to my mind – what I want to say is there in my brain already. I don’t seem to have issue coming up with thoughts and the words to express those thoughts. I guess as a scientist, I tend to value my cognitive abilities more. So, if there’s a mistake on my blog, just assume it’s because I can’t type well 😉
As with everything with my recovery, it’s just one day at a time. Somethings have improved much faster than others. My general physical ability  recovered fairly quickly. Things that take concentration are a bit slower to come back (like typing and knitting). But, what’s awesome is that I’m doing them anyway!
 I try to find things everyday to be thankful for, and to enjoy life as much as possible right now. This might not be my idea life right now, but it’s my life now, and it is what it is. Luckily, I have lots to be thankful for to hep get me through my days and the frustrating times. 
PS: The reason I keep writing about this is so people get some sort of insight into what it’s like to be recovering from a stroke, especially since it’s so common (even though my particular experience is extremely rare)… and really just for my own records. 
Comments on: "Typing" (5)

  1. Keep writing about it…its good insight for all of us to have in case we find ourselves or loved ones in a similar situation (which, as you mentioned, is not uncommon). I haven't caught a single typo, btw.

    Like

  2. My grandfather had two strokes and never fully recovered, neither his motor skills nor the cognitive ones. There was back then (that was before I was born, early 1970s) basically no reha treatment because it was widely assumed that the human brain can't regenerate. I'm not paying too much attention to this research, but from what I gather it's quite amazing how much has changed in how stroke patients are treated today, especially when it comes to encouraging to re-learn lost abilities. Practice, it seems, can achieve things that 40 years ago were simply believed to be impossible. So by all means, keep on typing 🙂

    Like

  3. Alyssa, thanks for sharing your experience. It's good to hear from you and to learn about the progress and the challenges. And I think some might find it useful when faced with similar situations, as ana mentioned.

    Typing might be hard, but I'm glad you're keeping at it here 🙂

    Like

  4. Thank you for the supportive words, everyone! I'm glad others are finding this useful/interesting.

    Bee – so sorry to hear about your grandfather. It's amazing how much things have changed in terms of healthcare in general in the past few decades.

    Like

  5. I had to read back to find out what was going on – how terrifying and awful! But great to hear that you're recovering so well and so fast. The brain can mend itself miraculously.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

