Oh yeah…

…this is why we were on the fence about having another child.

The Newborn Phase

Don’t get me wrong…I love Carter, he’s cute, and wonderful, and *insert all the other love-y stuff I’m supposed to say here*

But O.M.G.

The constant cycle of diapers, feeding, calming, getting him to sleep…the crying, the middle of the night everything. Yikes.

I know I should enjoy him in the moment, and every phase is a great phase..blah, blah, blah…but I find myself longing for the days when he will be a little older – 5-6 months? 1-2 years? If that makes me a bad mom, then so be it. I for one, think these feelings and thoughts are totally normal and totally warranted given what a lifestyle change it all means! I can’t be the only one…in fact, I know I felt the same way when Evan was a newborn too.

Comments on: "Oh yeah…" (6)

  1. I think it just keeps getting better and better. For us, the big sea-change (c-change?) is learning to read. Can't wait for DC2 to do that…

    Hang in there!

    Like

  2. yeah. i agree. 10 month old and 3 year old. i htink they start being really fun around 6 months. and just keeps getting better. hang in ther!

    Like

  3. The perfect age is between say 4 and 8 months.. They are sleeping better but still not mobile.
    We are just about entering the busy/crawling/into everything 7 month baby stage and I am back to pulling my hair out! It does get better though.. I think they definitely get more 'loveable' the older they get!

    Like

  4. I don't have kids… but I've never liked infants. All the crying and just lying there. I think I'll feel the same when when I do have kids. You're not the only one.

    Like

  5. No you are definitely not alone. I thought it got fun around 6-8 months. And then got better and better. And then got worse around 2.5…now waiting to see what's next.

    Like

  6. Glad I'm not the only one 🙂 I remember Evan getting better, except 3-4 months was HORRID! But 5-6 months was amazing. We'll see how different #2 will be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

