Stroke Deficits

I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas (if you celebrate) and were able to have some fun and get some relaxation in. I had a great Christmas, spent with DH, the two boys, and my parents. It was fun and enjoyable, and pretty much stress-free (though having to give Evan two time-outs on Christmas day wasn’t a highlight!) .

It’s been about 2.5 months since my stroke. I noticed a lot of improvements until my surgery two weeks ago, then that week was pretty awful. It was like I was regressing. Thankfully, the doctor warned us that might happen, and things started to get back on track and things have been going rather well in the last week or so.  I feel stronger, more energetic, and just more “together” in general. That being said, there are still several deficits I’m dealing with:

– Lower right quadrant field cut in my eyesight
– Speech issues (minor, but I notice it, especially when I’m tired)
– Fine motor skills with my right hand (like typing)
– Spelling in written communication
– Feeling foggy (comparable to when you’re over-tired)
– Multi-tasking
– Issues with orientation (for example: figuring which way to orient a sock to get it on straight)
– Issues reading and/or writing numbers (especially on the computer)
– Easily frustrated, especially with the kids.

It will be interesting to see how these deficits evolve over the next few weeks and months, or if new ones appear. The doctors said full recovery would take 6-12 months, but it could be a life-time in the making.

The good thing is I’m feeling more like myself, and more confident that I will be able to live a “normal” life. Here’s hoping all the worst is behind us now, and that things keep improving from here on out.

Comments on: "Stroke Deficits" (3)

  1. Damn amazing you are. Who knew regress was part of progress, hey? Good for you for getting through it! Glad Christmas was a good one.
    Love Jill

    Like

  2. I'm glad you are feeling more like yourself.. I hope your trip back to 100% is a short one!

    Like

  3. All the best to you and your for next year! I hope you can see the improvements you are making, even if they might be slow and that it doesn't feel as awesome as it is.

    (I would most likely be the same, frustrated and all those emotions but still, you are doing amazingly.)

    All the best! Gott Nytt År.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

