Knitting As Therapy

A friend of mine posted this article on Facebook the other day about how knitting can act as great therapy on many levels. This rings so true to me.

I started knitting in the last year of my PhD when I was rather depressed. It gave me something to do with my time to keep my mind off how terrible I felt my life was at the time. It gave me purpose and made me feel accomplished (a stark contrast with beating my head against the wall on a daily basis with my research). I will always credit knitting with getting me through – and beyond – that last year!

Since then, it’s been my go-to hobby. It keeps my hands busy, it works my brain,  it reduces my stress, and relaxes me. Finding new projects/patterns or learning new techniques excites me. I love the way I feel when I finish a project (even though it doesn’t happen too often!).

It’s been a large part of my stroke recovery too. It made me feel normal again, and made me realize I could do things I was able to do “before”. It let me feel like I could accomplish something that others told me I might not be able to do (so, I was able to say “screw that!”). It was the first thing to came to my mind when people asked me what I loved to do or what I wanted to get back to doing.

I love it so much, I created a knitting support group for new mom that just started this week! I even applied for a small grant to keep the group going!

If you’re looking for a new hobby that can reduce stress, that excites you, that taps into your creative side, and makes you feel accomplished, I totally and fully recommend knitting! Plus, knitters are some pretty awesome people too!

Comments on: "Knitting As Therapy" (4)

  1. You are so wonderful 🙂

    Like

  2. princess party Natural Therapies has been successfully treating it’s clients since 2005, assisting in everything from injury recovery for athletes to providing relaxing massages to those that simply wish to indulge themselves.

    Like

  3. Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post.
    Medical Scrubs

    Like

  4. […] One thing I let go when I started teaching in September was knitting, which has been an important piece of self-care I’ve been investing in since my grad school days (can’t find the post where I first write about it, but here’s one in which I write about knitting as therapy). […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

