Weekday Meal Ideas (1)

I’ll be doing a couple post on this theme in the next while! 

Here are some meals I typically pull out on weeknights. I make no claim that they are healthy or that you/your kids/your spouse/your cat will like them. What you see are not the full recipes. If you’d like the full recipe with measurements and everything, just send me an email!

What are your go-to weeknight meals?

Basil Pasta

Ingredients
– Pasta of your choice (I typically use bowties)
– Fresh basil
– Cream
-Lemon
– Parmesan cheese (fresh is better)

Directions
Cook pasta as per the directions on the package. Chop up a good size handful of basil leaves, and grate the lemon rind until you have about 2 tablespoons. Once the pasta is cooked, drain it. Add about a cup  of cream (I use whipping cream and go for full fat!), and about 1/2 cup of parm and stir until cheese is melted. Add lemon rind and basil and stir again. Squeeze the juice from the lemon. Serve with extra parm and freshly ground pepper to top!

Veggie “cream” soup

Ingredients
– 2-3 garlic cloves
– 1 small onion
– 1 baking potato
– bunch of carrots, cauliflower or broccoli
– 1L (4 cups) Vegetable stock (or chicken or beef, whatever you prefer or have on hand) 
– Seasoning (see below for pairings)
Directions
Chop up garlic and onion. Heat up some oil in a large soup pot. Once hot, add garlic and onion and cook. Meanwhile, peel and chop up baking potato and other veggie. Add to pot. Add seasoning (ginger for carrots, and italian season or dried basil or herbes de Provence for cauliflower/broccoli). Add stock and bring to a boil. Reduce to med-low and simmer for 15-20 minutes. Using an immersion blender, puree until smooth. Serve with break of your choice (I do parm garlic sticks) 



Sausage Pasta

Ingredients 
– 3-4 garlic cloves
– olive oil
– 2-3 sausages of your choice (I use mild Italian)
– your favourite pasta (I usually use fusilli)

Directions
Cook pasta as per directions. Meanwhile, cut sausages into slides and cook over medium heat until cooked through. Set aside. In the same pan, heat up oil and cooke garlic for 2-3 minutes (don’t burn!). Mix pasta, sausages, and oil/garlic sauce. Done!



Chicken wings

Ingredients
– Soy sauce
– Salt
– Fresh ground pepper

Directions
Preheat oven to 425F. Put wire baking rack over a baking sheet covered in tin foil. Dip each wing in soy sauce to coat and put on rack. Sprinkle salt and pepper over each wing. Bake for 20 minutes, flip each wing, and bake for another 20 minutes. I serve with coleslaw or other cut up veggies. 

Comments on: "Weekday Meal Ideas (1)" (4)

  1. These sound good!

    When I've been on an LTO, I've worked my way through Sandi Richard's Dinner Survival cookbook, which has 9 weeks worth of meal plans. Otherwise, I make a lot of pastas, stir-frys, and simple chicken/fish recipes with rice on the side. I love the Looneyspoons Collection book for ideas. We also make our own pizzas a lot, with the Pillsbury dough in a tube or the pre-baked crust from the bakery section of the store. We love taco pizza, mexican pizza, and apple-feta pizza.

    I make a sausage pasta very similar to yours but mine includes broccoli and red chili flakes. Also a shrimp and arugula pasta that is quick and tasty. Both are Giada di Laurentiis recipes, but I can't remember if they're from the same book or not. Either Everyday Italian or Giada's Family Dinners.

    Like

  2. This is awesome!
    I have to give you kudos — these are my kind of recipes. They are indeed quick and require few ingredients, with spices I have on hand anyway.

    I hate the vast majority of people's recipes online where it's supposedly a really quick and easy dish, yet it requires 15+ “necessary” ingredients, 10 of which are really expensive stuff I have never heard of and have no intention of buying for that recipe alone, because I have to buy 500x more than the recipe calls for. And then I make it sans the 10 or substitute what I have, and it's perfectly fine, and I realize the original poster was full of it.

    Simplicity and speed FTW!

    Like

  3. Space Potatoes – We'll have to do a recipe swap!

    GMP – Yes, that's what I LOVE about these recipes! I hate the books/sites that say they have quick and easy recipes, and they use ingredients that no one has on hands or take forever in the end ( like they need lots of prep — that's the worst!)

    Like

  4. Speaking of recipes with a gazillion expensive ingredients and infinite prep time

    Why I Don't Cook at Home

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

