Close Enough For Jazz

In high school, I loved music, and played the clarinet classically, as well as jazz tenor and baritone saxophones. 

Tuning was always an important part of our warm-up, and was especially critical in classical, since it can be really obvious when even one instrument is ever-so-slightly out of tune. We would spend whole class periods working on being able to pick out who was out of tun and by how much.
For jazz, our teacher wasn’t nearly as hardcore about it. In fact, jazz can sound a bit better if the ensemble isn’t perfectly in tune. So, he would often say during these tuning sessions, “close enough for jazz.”
For some reason, the phrase really resonated with me (pun slightly intended), and I find myself muttering it 20ish years later…when I’m folding laundry, searching for something at the store but can’t find exactly what I’m looking for, or when I’m adding spices to dinner.
Now, it fits perfectly with my general outlook for life – “good enough”. Clearly our music teacher was on to something.
What things did you learn as a kid still resonate with you?
Comments on: "Close Enough For Jazz" (3)

  1. HA! I had a high school music teacher who used the exact same phrase about tuning (for any kind of music), and I also still use it for cleaning, cooking, and other tasks! It's always so great when I realise I'm not the only one – my husband has never quite understood what the phrase means, never having played a musical instrument.

    Like

  2. (this is Cath, by the way – for some reason the “use other account” commenting option isn't showing up, so it won't use the other Google account I'm logged into!)

    Like

  3. Glad I'm not the only one! Weird about the commenting thing :S

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

