Curating Notes

I spent last week curating the @PeopleOfLdnOnt twitter account, and I pulled away from other social media so I could focus on the task.

The process of curating an account was really busy but rewarding. I got to “meet” people I normally wouldn’t have, and I got to learn a lot about our city and the people in it! If you get the chance to do something like that, try it out!

I learned that I enjoy twitter much more than Facebook. I find it’s a much better way to connect with different communities – scientists, writers, locals, etc.. I also find the info posted to be more useful and definitely more interesting, and I find it much easier to keep up with current events. As I switch career paths into education, I’ll need to seek out that community on Twitter now too.

Facebook used to be a great place to keep up with friends, old and new, but I’ve been finding it tedious lately. People are using it more and more as a political/sounding board/annoying quote archive rather than sharing personal updates, and the latter is how I prefer to use FB. My activity there has decreased substantially over the past while, with some “likes”, and a comment here and there, and maybe a post a two a week. 

I also backed away from writing/reading blog posts, and I gotta say it was a nice break. I think it shows me that I follow way too many blogs for me to keep up with, so I need to decide what to do there (just follow some on twitter? cut some from Feedly? Only choose a set number per day to comment on?) — any ideas? 
I still like writing blog posts though, but not sure what I want to aim for in terms of frequency. I’ll probably just do what I’ve always done – write and post when something strikes me, and there will be busy times and more quiet times. Regardless, I will post all of them to my Twitter account, so follow me there too.

How do you use each social media tool differently? Do you take breaks to re-evaluate, or just to “get away”?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

