First Re-Birthday

This weekend was Thanksgiving in Canada. We had an awesome weekend with skating, apple/pumpkin picking, great outdoor time, and an amazing Thanksgiving dinner on Sunday (and a day of best-ever leftovers on Monday).

It was in stark contrast to last year’s Thanksgiving, when we were struggling with a newborn and I had my stroke* (1 year ago tomorrow). In stroke-survivor circles, it’s known as a re-birthday. I kind of feel like I was “reborn” that day – it certainly changed every aspect of my life, and all our lives have changed in the last years. We’ve been through a lot as a family, and have come through all the better on the other side.

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I wrote and delivered thank you cards to some of the doctors, nurses, and staff who, quite literally, saved my life. It’s not everyday and opportunity like that comes around, and I wanted to share my gratitude.

I know I’m very lucky in how everything has turned out. A year ago, I’m sure we’d never thought I’d be throwing together a Thanksgiving feast like it’s nothing, and thriving in my BEd program.

I am so thankful for so many things this year, and I feel like all future Thanksgiving will always have a special meaning for me.

*For those who aren’t familiar with this, all my post related to it are here starting with this one.

Comments on: "First Re-Birthday" (5)

  1. Happy re-birthday!

    Like

  2. Happy re-birthday!

    Like

  3. Happy re-birthday! You really have accomplished an amazing amount!

    Like

  4. It's amazing how much can happen in a year. Happy re-birthday to you and your family.

    Like

  5. Thanks everyone!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

