Buying Into Christmas

I am so completely sick of so many things about the Christmas season:

– Writing and sending cards
– Advent calendars
– The whole Santa charade
– Getting token gifts for EVERYONE EVER (teachers, daycare staff, mail carrier, pet walker/sitter…)
– Baking 123 dozen cookies
– Over-solicitation from charities
– The whole FOCUS of “WHAT do you want for Christmas?”

I’ve never really found the holidays super stressful, but this year I’m just finding the whole season annoying because it’s so totally full of obligation, competition, and pettiness.

I used to like Christmas shopping. Going out to the mall/wherever, and just looking around until something struck me for someone specific. Now I just feel like it’s all about gift cards and lists, and it’s not even something I want to think about, let along DO (especially since everyone turns into an asshole when Xmas shopping).

I like baking all year round, but I find baking at Christmas really annoying because it just seems like some big competition – who can be the most miserable about baking? I also can’t stand all the pictures on Facebook about it. It just seems so obnoxious.

Last year I didn’t send out Christmas cards because of stroke. I liked the freedom so much that I decided to do the same thing this year.

I can’t stand the focus on Santa and chocolate and presents for the kids.

Even decorating our house for the holidays didn’t lift my spirits, and that ALWAYS works.

I don’t know where I’m going with this post other than I don’t like how the holidays are presenting themselves this year. I’m just feeling “meh” and “bleh” and want to just wash my hands of the whole thing. I need to either change my attitude and/or change the way we do things.

How are you feeling about the holidays this year?

Comments on: "Buying Into Christmas" (6)

  1. Why not just stop? I think we posted about this last year: http://nicoleandmaggie.wordpress.com/2013/12/11/do-the-holidays-stress-you-out/
    We're pretty lazy, but that's what holidays are all about! Relaxing with friends and family. And definitely shopping online.

    Like

  2. I feel a little sad this year since I don't feel the christmas spirit at all. No lights at home, no christmas baking (I did a little today though and realized that I felt guilty since I really don't want to gain weight). I think for this year I'll send the minimum amount of gifts, no cards and write it off as a “meh” xmas. I don't have to be perfect every year and if I (you) don't feel it, that's fine!

    Enjoy the vacation from education and hang out with family and friends. that's the real holiday spirit if you ask me – realaxing winter time. Happy Holidays. God jul!

    Like

  3. I agree – we have stopped some of these things. Others we're mulling over right now to decide how much they really mean to us. We've been thinking a lot about what Christmas means to OUR family, and that doesn't necessarily match what others want/do.

    Like

  4. Sorry you're feeling “meh” this year too. Like you said, some years will be better than others, I guess.

    I'm looking forward to spending time with family and hopefully that will reinvigorate me!

    Like

  5. I hear you! I had issues printing cards this year and almost bailed…but I really like receiving them, so sucked it up and made it happen. They'll probably be late, but oh well. We've got some big things happening in January, so I think I've been distracted and now the short time frame is stressing me out….

    Like

  6. I think, as noted by others above, that the key to enjoying the holidays is to give up any obligations you can give up, and also to focus on the two to three things you DO enjoy and really put your all into those. For me, its decorating the house, baking 1 batch of gingerbread cookies for ourselves (so we can fill the house with yummy ginger/nutmeg/cinnamon smells), listening to Christmas music/watching Christmas movies, and buying small but fun gifts for the boys ONLINE. Thankfully no adult gifts are exchanged in our family because I would HATE that. We used to bake dozens of cookies and take them to work and give them to families and friends and it stopped being fun. We send “holiday/New Years” cards anytime between December and February that we can get around to it (I think it may be closer to February this year). For teachers we get a bunch of AmEx giftcards and a nice tip or giftcard for service workers. It can still be stressful but I try really hard to cut all the crap out of it (no Elf on the Shelf going on here!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

