Mini Book Reviews (2)

Wow, I haven’t exactly done a lot of reading this year. I’ve been working on the first of these books since last summer (granted, I’ve been reading it as C hits the ages it talks about), and the second one since January. Hopefully I’ll do more now that I’m done school!

The Wonder Weeks by van de Rijt and Plooij

Summary: The authors summarize what’s going at certain stages in infant development, and basically what’s causing your baby to go crazy.

Thoughts: Meh. You know what…I actually found the first 1-2 chapters useful in that they gave me reasons why C was acting like a Chucky doll. Sure it gave me pointers on what to do, but I’ll be honest, I didn’t do many of them. It just gave me solace knowing that his behaviour was normal. After that, the books was incredibly repetitive, though the quotes from the despondent mothers could be entertaining. Advice: get the app instead.

Rating: (2/5)

Three Day Road by Joseph Boyden

Summary: Tells the story of a Cree boy/man and his aunt from both of their perspectives as he ships out, enlists in the army, to fight in WWI. His perspective is mostly told during the war, hers from long before.

Thoughts: Looking back, this story was very interesting and had so many emotions and themes threaded throughout that were very thought-provoking. However, because I read it over a period of MONTHS (ack) while I was focused on completing my BEd, it wasn’t a page turning, it just did not hold my attention.

Rating: (2.5/5)

Comments on: "Mini Book Reviews (2)" (1)

  1. I felt the same way about The Wonder Weeks. I borrowed it from the library, read half of it, then bought the app. Sorry about Three Day Road, though, I loved that book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

