Well, thanks for asking! It’s been busy, stressful, anxiety-inducing, fun, wonderful, rewarding…I LOVE it and I HATE it all at the same time.

As I alluded to last time, my days are pretty crammed full with teaching. That means I have to prepare my lessons, assignments, test, etc. during other times – meaning evenings, after the kids go to bed, for the most part. The lucky part is all three of my students are taking the same course, so that – in theory – means 1 prep (or one class to prepare for).

Of course, what happens in theory and what really happens are completely different things. Because I’m teaching one-on-one classes, each student can have a more personalized educational experience. Often this means creating and re-creating my lessons and assessments, how they will be marked, how much they will count for in the overall mark.

There is the dealing with the students themselves and their needs – not just educationally, but emotionally, mentally, and even physically (one of my students broke their arm). Since this is high school, you can imagine that this part of the job is not the easiest.

Then there is interactions with the parents, which is done far more often than in public school – at least once per week, but often times more, especially if there are issues cropping up (either academically or behaviour-wise).

There’s trying to keep track of the other courses, extracurriculars and school events so things don’t fall on students all at once, and to make sure they’re getting the required 110 hours to get the credit (classes have to be made up if one is missed – unlike with regular classes).

Needless to say it has been exhausting on so many levels. I was asked to teach a different course for the next term, and have had to back track and decline because I just don’t think I can handle it right now for my own well-being. I need a break.

To all the teachers out there, I don’t know HOW you do it, especially if you’re full time and teaching different classes – and that’s not even considering extracurriculars, volunteering, your home life and other things going on. From the two months experience I have, this job is HARD. I had no idea how much work it was, and how emotionally draining it is.

So, if you are a teacher: have a drink on me tonight! If you know a teacher, please THANK THEM for everything they do. It really is a thankless job.

Next up for me: continuing to teach one of my students (they’re taking 2 terms to do the class instead of 1), and I’ll be teaching a first year astronomy class at the university, as well as a first year math course at the college, in January. Depending on how that’s going, I might volunteer at a local high school and/or take a course myself to add more qualifications to my resume.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

