The Martian

Wow. What a ride!

I just finished reading The Martian by Andy Weir, and it was flat-out amazing.

For those not aware of the book, it tell the story of Mark Watney, an astronaut left behind by his crew on Mars and his struggle to stay alive.

I was a bit wary of reading the book because 1) I  had heard that it was rather technical, and 2) sci-fi can be hit or (really big) miss. But, from the first line, I was hooked and I never wanted to put the book down.

My background in astronomy really allowed me to appreciate the scientific nuances in the book (and some of the jokes were particularly funny to people who know math and science – especially on Mars – well). But, everything else was done so well: the character development, the roller-coast plot, and the back-on-Earth story being woven in.

It was so exciting that I regularly literally laughed, gasped, and cried – VERY rare while reading!

I knew this book was a great one when I start being sad that it was going to end when I wasn’t even half-way through.

After a long time of “meh” books, it was so refreshing to read such an amazing story.

I give this book a 5/5!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

