Our Kids to a “T”

It was just after the kids went to bed, and I needed them both to sign a Father’s Day card for DH.

I go into C’s room first. I creep inside, whisper “C, are you still awake?” Dumb question. As I get close I see his eyes are wide open and he has a big smile on his face. I tell him I need to turn on the light and he needs to “sign” DH’s card. He gets very giggly and exuberantly signs the card multiple times. I tell him that’s good, and he lies down and practically yells “goodnight mommy!!”.

Then I got into E’s room. I had just left about 5 minutes before, and he is completely passed out. Luckily, since it wasn’t for long, I was able to wake him up (which is usually impossible*). After a few false wake-ups, I was able to get him to sit up and he mumbles something completely incoherent at me. I put the pen in his hand and ask him to sign DH’s card. He used the wrong side of the pen first, and then didn’t press down hard enough his second try. Then he signed his name quickly, laid down and promptly fell back asleep.

These two are as different as night and day in so many ways!

*One evening, our fire alarm (which is located right outside our bedrooms) went off for a good 10 minutes, with us running through the house, turning on lights, yelling at each other trying to find the source of the smoke**. E never even flinched once. It’s a bit scary.

**C has put one of my old stuffed animals on the bulb in my bed-side lamp and it practically burnt to a crisp. We were luck it didn’t go up in flames! We now use LED bulbs in all our open lamps!

IMG_0587

Poor 1980’s Stegasaurus

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

