Back on the Needles

One thing I let go when I started teaching in September was knitting, which has been an important piece of self-care I’ve been investing in since my grad school days (can’t find the post where I first write about it, but here’s one in which I write about knitting as therapy).

So, when I started my medical leave about a month ago due to extreme stress, panic, and anxiety, I knew I had to pick up the needles again.

I picked up where I left of, with this flowered headband:

img_0979

Flowered Headband

This was a relatively easy and quick knit from 60 Quick Knits from America’s Yarn Shops.

Part way through the headband, I realized I was using 5mm needles (size 8), not size 5 (3.75mm) needles as the pattern called for. But, instead of frogging it and starting over, I plugged along,  just doing fewer repeats of the pseudo-lace patterned bands in the centre. It also turned out a little wider because of this, but more coverage in our winters is not a bad thing!

Nice to be back to this fine hobby, and now to one of the best things about it: picking my next project!

Comments on: "Back on the Needles" (2)

  1. Wow! That is awesome (and looks very good on you!). I’m trying to make myself do some crocheting, but it always ends up too low on my priority list. This is inspiring though!!

    Like

    • Knitting is high on mine, I just never had the time for it…so I’m making it a priority now, because I know it makes me feel better.

      If crochet isn’t a priority, screw it! Why bother thinking about it? 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

