Valentine’s Protest

As with many elementary school classrooms, E’s requires students to either give valentines to everybody OR nobody.

The past two years, he’s given them to everybody, but never seemed to care too much about it.

This year, after I bought him some dollar store valentines, he said he’d rather not give them out. When DH asked him why, he said that there are a few kids who have been mean to him this year, and he doesn’t want to give them Valentines. So, he’d  rather just not give any given the choice.

I totally respect that, and am actually very impressed and proud of his decision.

I think the whole “you have to give Valentines to EVERYONE” rule is ridiculous and totally takes the meaning out of the tradition. Yes, I get that some kids would not get any, and that’s sad. So, since both these options suck, I wish the whole thing would just be abolished at this age.

6 year-olds don’t care about cards! Why not just have a Valentine’s party without the stupid cards and be done with it?

We got a message from C’s daycare about this topic. Since the kids don’t know how to write and no parent knows all the other kids, they suggest just sending in blank cards. WHY? Just GET RID OF THIS PART, for the love of God!

Based on this, you probably wouldn’t be surprised that DH and I basically ignore this holiday (unless me asking him to pick up 50% off chocolate the day after counts). His birthday is about a week after VD, and mine is in mid-March, so we’d much rather focus on celebrating those.

What do your kids end up doing for Valentine’s? 

Comments on: "Valentine’s Protest" (3)

  1. Lol! Totally with you. I had no idea they did this at those young ages. What a waste of resources, if nothing else. My level of celebration also consists of chocolate shopping on the 15th. Last year I got high quality stuff shoppers drugmart for a 10th of the price!!!! 😀 I may get David some tulips this year though, since they make him so happy. But the day after.

    Like

  2. I’m in Europe, and when I read about this I find it really strange. Growing up, Valentine’s was something adults celebrated. I totally agree with you on the cards thing.

    Like

    • It is interesting how it’s more geared to children now. Even when I was growing up, we exchanged valentines with our friends (but that was it).

      Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

