Making My Own Pendants

As I wrote last time, one of the birthday gifts I bought myself with my birthday money was a kit to make my own glass pendant necklaces. I promised to post when I was done, so here’s how it went!

I bought the kit from LilyDSCraftSupplies on Etsy and followed their online tutorial.

I first made a template using PowerPoint (I know, I know…I’m sure there are better programs, but this was easy) of the shapes of each pendant using the given measurements.

Then I chose my images and fit them into the templates and printed them on matte photo paper.

Their tutorial used the following steps:

  1. Seal the images with a micro-glaze (this took me a while to track down, and cost ~$15)
  2. Glue the glass carbochons on the images
  3. While waiting for this to dry, seal the pendant trays with their glue
  4. Cut the glass/image out
  5. File any jagged paper edges with a nail file
  6. Seal the backs of the images (now attached to the glass) with their glue
  7. Glue the glass/image inside the tray.

I ran into several problems with the method:  a) not using enough glue so the corners of the images would come away from the glass, b) moving the glass around too much when bonding to the image, causing some images to rip, and c) some images would start pulling away from the glass when I was cutting with an exacto knife.

So, after going through one of the sets of glass carbochons, I re-did two pendants as above and then went a different direction. Instead, I:

  1. Sealed the images after printing.
  2. Cut the images out.
  3. Sealed the pendant trays.
  4. Seal the back of the images.
  5. Glued the images into the trays.
  6. Glued the glass on top of the images.

I ended up with a range of success, which is probably par for the course on early attempts. Here are the finished products:

IMG_0436.JPG

Though they’re not perfect, most are pretty good (the rectangle and circle at the right are the worst end product and probably not wearable). Considering I was looking at these types of necklaces on Etsy for $15-30 a piece, I think this was worth the expense (about $40 total) and time (perhaps a couple hours total?).

One huge benefit of doing it myself is being able to choose the images, so I’d be happy to try these again in the future for myself or even as gifts for others.

Comments on: "Making My Own Pendants" (1)

  1. These are lovely — great job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

