Gauge Evolution

As I’ve been knitting more and more, I’ve come to realize that I’m a very loose knitter. I usually have to go down 2-4 US size needles than patterns call for, and my stitches slip easily on my metal needles (sometimes too easily and the fall off). Compared to other knitters, a simple garter stitch fabric that I’ve made practically looks like lace.

It hasn’t always been this way though, and it wasn’t until just recently that I realized my gauge changed drastically when I had my stroke (Oct. 2013).

Here’s are a couple photos to demonstrate just how much my gauge has changed (using my Penrose afghan):

Now that I’m knitting more complex patterns, this is something I’ll need to take into account more and more. For example the shawl I’ve been working on for the past month or so, the lace will be VERY open. Check out how this is going on my Ravelry page, but stay tuned for the finished object (FO) soon!

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

