Moving Target

I became a certified high school teacher two years ago, and I’m a couple weeks away from completing my first year of teaching in the public school system. I started the year with a long-term occasional position, where I was teaching grade 11 and 12 physics. Three months in, for many different reasons I won’t get into here, I went on a medical leave. Since returning to work, I have been a daily occasional teacher.

There have been things I’ve absolutely loved about this work, and things I’ve absolutely hated.

The nice thing about being an occasional teacher (long- or short-term) is being able to “test the waters”. I’ve taught in many different schools, grade levels, and subject areas. And, since I’ve been hired by one school board, I have job security. That means I have the ability to take the time to find what gives me the most joy and satisfaction before looking at more permanent job options.

Just recently I’ve applied to another school board (the one I’m in), a part-time professor position at a college, and a full-time professor (teaching) position at the same college.

I realize that DH’s full-time, permanent, well-paying job gives me the privilege to be able to do this, so I’m grateful that I’m able to explore these opportunities as I try to hit the forever-moving target of my “ideal” career (is there such a thing for me – I’m starting to realize I’m someone who loves change in this part of my life).

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

