My Modcloth Experience

In the summer, I take stock of my wardrobe to see what needs to be replaced or added. This year, I  thought I’d try something different and take a look at Modcloth. I’ve seen advertisments everywhere, and I seem to hear good things about it. I even know some people who have been happy with their products.

So, I made a list of things I needed and search around on Modcloth to see what they had to offer. They certainly had a large variety, and I ended up ordering 2 pairs of dress pants, three tops, a pair of shoes, and one undergarment.

I ordered on August 20th and I received the package September 8th. Not quick. that’s for sure. So, I wasn’t super happy about that, but I wasn’t too surprised since it was  coming from the USA.

I opened the box and I could immediately tell the fabric of the blouse on the top was cheap before even taking it out of the bag. I hoped for the best while opening it, but when I put it on, not only was fabric thin and flimsy, but the top was WAY too big! The arm holes were huge and you could see my entire bra and more on each side!

Okay…not a great start. That was the shirt I bought on sale for $10. Maybe the rest will be better.

Next up a pair of pants. Again, the fabric was cheap and as I held them up I realized they’d look ridiculous on me. Sure enough, I put them on and it looked like clown pants! They were SUPER wide and long (I’m 5’7″, but there was a good 6″ of extra length). They did fit on the waist okay, but otherwise were a miss.

Next was another pair of pants, and more of the same. Another miss.

I had another two shirts, and both fit similarly to the first one. Way too big under the arms!  Fabrics were also thin and/or they construction was not very flattering. Two more misses.

I tried on a lounging bra that, again, was WAY too big…which is insane, because I’m pretty well-endowed and never have that problem. So, a big no to that one too.

I finally tried on the shoes I ordered – yay! They fit! They’re cute! They’re good quality! A hit this time.

Things to consider:

  1. I ordered all larger sizes than I normally do, but only because I ordered to their sizing charts.
  2. I did read the reviews and take the comments about quality and sizing into account when ordering.
  3. The fabric seemed cheap or the construction was awful.
  4. It took longer than expected to get to me.
  5. I had to pay a ~$60 customs charge to accept the package.
  6. I had to pay ~$30 in shipping to return it.

This was not a very good shopping experience, and I will not be shopping at Modcloth again!

Have you bought clothing from Modcloth? What was your experience like?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

